Month: September 2009

  • CONTEST! Put on your thinking caps, folks!

    To celebrate the release of my FanVixens calendar, I'm going to have my very first blogger contest. The calendar is themed with a variety of characters. So, I want you to dress up as ANY EXISTING CHARACTER that you like. I mean ANY CHARACTER. As long as the character existed at some point in books, tv, movies, video games, etc. it's acceptable. I want to see makeup, costumes, and a bit of a back story...

    How to Enter
    To enter the contest you must....

    • Dress up as a character. This can be based on ANY comic book, sci-fi, cartoon, video game, horror, fairy tale, sitcom character that ALREADY exists. Don't be afraid to go obscure. What characters did you grow up loving? If yo need ideas don't be afraid to ask! You can look at some of my comic con images for some inspiration. Google your favorite characters. Go through your closet and see what you have to work with. You can even use your Halloween costume as an entry. You have till freakin' NOVEMBER 6TH 2009 to figure it out!!!
    • Post your entry on your own blog.
    • Post 3-5 images of your entry. Try to pose like your character. Full body, and head shots. Also if possible, a picture of the original character that you are emulating.
    • Comment me via this entry so I can know that you're a contestant.
    • Don't forget to give me the name of your character.
    • Be a follower of my blogspot profile (choke-a-bitch.blogspot.com)  Actually this step is not a necessity, but it will help.
    • Extra points. A short story of you as your character. I'm very into photo stories. So a simple 1-3 sentences/lines for each image you send will work. You can be poetic, artistic, or straight forward. It's up to you. Anything goes. I'm just looking for effort. You can describe each photo with 1-2 words if that works for you. Just follow your whims and may the best gal/guy win!

    Now for the meat and potatoes...PRIZES!

    Over $500 in prizes will be given away for this contest! I will have 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place entries.
    These prizes will include:

    • a secret grand prize that anyone can enjoy! When I say anyone, I mean ANYONE. Think BIG people. This is my first contest and I like to be flamboyant when it comes to gifting.
    • a variety of OCC lip tars-some items from the Mac style black collection for fall 2009
    • some of my favorite Arcona skin care products
    • cute accessories
    • other items that I haven't thought of yet!!!

    The list of prizes will grow if I have enough contestants, hell maybe I'll even have 4th or 5th place prizes.

    Judging...
    In order to keep the ruling as unbiased and sincere as possible I will have 5 different judges of different character, sex, ethnicity, and lifestyle. Each judge will rate you on a scale from 0-20. Each individual score will be anonymous. Your rank will be a score of 0-100.

    Judge 1- ME. I'm an artist/photographer. I have a sick sense of humor and I love irony. I'm particularly going to pay attention to your makeup, how much effort you put into your entry, and please be aware that I'm not a fan of bad photoshop jobs, so if you're thinking of using some cheesy filters on your work...I'm not going to like it. If it's tasteful and makes sense then go for it. Let your artistic juices flow, but don't blur your images beyond recognition. Also, I'm looking for fun characters. You don't have to be an exact image of a character. I want to see you as the character.

    Judge 2- My older sister. I would describe her as a more goth, dramatic version of myself. She loves all things unusual and dark. She's also a UCLA English major with an emphasis on creative writing, so story will be important to her.

    Judge 3- The gay male. He'll probably be the most critical. When it comes to him, you best bring it. He's looking for makeup skill, costume, ferocity, and breaking barriers. He's into theatrics and fashion.

    Judge 4- The straight, refined business man. He's a suave, intelligent, and pays a lot of attention to detail. Skin might sway him a bit, but he's an intelligent guy. He knows good work when he sees it. He's no makeup guru and he may not be familiar with many characters, so he'll probably pay more attention to the whole picture/story that you put together.

    Judge 5- The fanboy. He's into comic books, video games, hot chicks, and pizza. He'll pay more attention to how true you are to a character and he'll focus on creativity and the obscurity of a character. He may also be swayed by skin, but he'll be more impressed by a great costume and attention to detail.

    Remember contest ends November 6, 2009. That's over a month from now, so there will be no excuse for late entries.

    Woo, this is so exciting! Now don't be scurred people. I want you to have fun with it. xoxo

  • Long Beach Comic Con 10/2-4/2009

    We will be having a booth at the 1st annual LBCC October 2-4. Come check us out. It should be fun. I wonder what I should dress up as? As much as I loved being Dr. Mrs. The Monarch, I just have so  many photos in that get-up. I have a few ideas running around in my head, but it's so soon. I wonder if I'll be able to pull some last minute costumes out of my ass like SDCC. =P

    So I'll be there with inkpenmutations selling my 2010-2011 FanVixens calendar. I think I'll have a surprise model guest with me. We'll see. =)

    Hmm... what else? Oh on Sunday I went to Sushi Roku in Hollywood and I must say it's way better than the one in Santa Monica. I didn't take any photos, but I thought I'd mention it in case anyone wanted to try Sushi Roku out for the first time.

    After Sushi Roku I went to my lovely, Vima's loft warming party. She got a cute little spot downtown. The building is over 100 years old and has a nice view. =) It's funny because I was right in her area not too long ago serving jury duty. haha. God jury duty's a fucking nightmare! Glad I didn't have to serve over a day.Well, here's a quick pic I took with Vima before she leaving her party.^She's miss January kitty in the FanVixens calendar and she was also in my first book. =) Love this sexy lady.Oh and here's something that I found hilarious at petco the other day.^Haha. It doesn't show too well in the picture but that hamster is all painted up like a some cheap lady of the evening. Lots of rouge and what appears to be false lashes. haha. "Critter operated no horses necessary" haha. Seriously folks,  I wanna know how one  commissions a photo of a hamster all hooker-ed up like that. Um, could we get a hamster with sexy bedroom eyes, and make sure her cheeks are flushed pink to show that she's in heat. I guess everyone has to start somewhere in the business. That includes people and hamsters alike.=P

  • Ranila's 25th Bday

    So my little sister had her 25th birthday 9-9-09. She had her party at the adorable Leon Lounge in Orange County. Her friend let her rent the place out for the even for free.Here are some photos. (click to enlarge)

    ^Me with the birthday girl. Yes, she wore a tiara for her bday. I wore a hairpiece made out of  genuine baby bald eagles. Now that's baller.^First shot of the evening.^Ugh it burns so good once it hits your mouth. haha. Not a big fan of Greygoose shots. I like Belvedere better when it's straight up.^Big sis arrived a bit later.^The sisters still bright eyed and sober.^2nd drink.^third drink. Aside from shots, I stuck with vodka redbulls I like to mix uppers and downers to give me that weird neutral feeling.^a bit more tipsy... She had an outfit change. It was funny because I saw the dress hanging in the bathroom and I thought it would've been hilarious to change into it real quick and wear it around the party until she noticed. It seemed funny in my mind, but I knew she probably would've cried or something. 10 years ago would've been another story. That's what big sisters are for right? haha.4th drink. Dude with the glasses painted on his shirt kept pouring me shots after this. oh man. People like challenging me to drink offs for some reason.^one of my loves showed up. She was the Nikki Doll from my first book.^I look evil here. =P^About to blow out her candles.  I think I was too drunk to remember this part.^A picture of her on the cake. This was from our first photo shoot. I told her she should have asked me to photoshop a tiara on her head for the cake. haha.^Some drunk dancing.^Final drink. I took a shot with my sister and lil cousin who I hadn't seen in years. This was like my 8th or 9th drink. I don't quite remember going home, and I felt so shitty the next day. I can't drink like I used to. My tolerance has gone down, since I don't drink as often. Plus, I'm just getting  plain old.Guess that's all for now.
  • NIN Wave Goodbye at the Hollywood Palladium

    ^Right outside the Palladium with my sister.
    ^Already buzzed.

    ^Conjoined twins. Connected at the hip. haha.

    It was a great concert. Very intimate and they played lots of my favorites. I was able to get my sister and I up to the VIP, but it happened so fast I left my camera with Blaine. We met Jared Leto, who I actually didn't recognize. He's a scrawny little fellow. My sister spotted him going to the bathroom. He took a picture of us with his phone, asked me for my number, then sneaked back to his date. Haha. Shady. We didn't meet the band or anything like that. We actually had to leave right away because my sister flew down from Burning Man to go to the concert then had to fly back. That's some hardcore shit. Btw, I'm so going to Burning Man next year. My showed me videos n pics and I was in awe.I uploaded my first videos on youtube. They are just video clips from the concert. I shot everything with my old canon pocket cam, so photo quality isn't great.

    ^Fuckin love this song.

    ^Who doesn't love this one?


    At the end Gary Numan performed "Cars" with them. How awesome is that? They sounded great live.
    This was actually my first real concert. I was so stoked that my sister got the ticket for me. =) Everyone I talked to was saying that this is an awesome venue for a first concert. I believe them. I loved every minute of it. Afterward, we went to thai town where they have lots of good late night Thai restaurants.

  • sdcc 09 last day

    (click photos to enlarge)For the last day of SDCC, I wanted to go for my version of the Japanese Gothic Lolita look. I got to finally rock the awesome Lolita hat that the talented craftswoman Kim Tia sent to me back in April. It totally pulled the look together. Actually the hat is what inspired the look.

    ^This girl was awesome. She even did the complete dance.
    ^Sisters
    ^We chased him down for a photo as they were closing.
    ^Best friend from Junior High. =)

    ^Fuckin rocket boy. haha.

    ^Aww horror booth babes footsies hurt. Seriously after rocking the Dr. Girlfriend boots, my second toe on each foot were numb for well over a month. They are actually just getting back to normal.^haha. I thought this was funny. I actually haven't seen it because I am a grown ass woman who's too busy to fall in love with a teen vampire story. I can't say I hate it, or that I'm a fan. I'm more of an old school Bram Stoker's Dracula fan. I don't have anything against the whole Twilight phenom. Maybe I'll watch it if it's on HBO and there's nothing else on. Otherwise, I wouldn't go out of my way to really fan it or bash it.

    ^Hot bloody bitches.
    ^With my nephew. He's all growed up now.
    ^Thought this was cute...

    After the Comic Con...So during the con, I was real serious about getting my hustle on. I decided not to party until it was all over. We headed over to Anthony's to start with our oysters shots, which has been an Inkpenmutations tradition since the first con we participated in.

    ^Enjoyed this on the way.Blaine and Tuan enjoy it in their own special way...

    ^To another successful year!
    ^Went to some random club downtown and ran into our bro.^Tuan's such a whore.^Uh the photos they take when you leave them with your camera. haha.Got trashed then left the club and ran across the street to get one more round of tequila shots.^The gang...^Happy drunk, tired drunk, angry drunk,  sloppy drunk. ^Pose off...haha.^Oh yeah, that's hot. haha.^This is what happens when you try to share a seatbelt with your older sister.haha.^Back at the motel for a sexy shoot on a sweet ride.Woohoo! Good times.

  • After Comic con day 4 haha

    Some of what goes on after hustling our asses off at SDCC.

    ^The gang. Heading to the trolley. You wouldn't wanna run into us in a dark alley.^I taught her to pose. My eyes are all red and makeup's all caked and creased, but it's cool cuz I Kick it with Chuck Norris.^Their name are Blaine and Tuan...Does anyone remember Blayne Edwards and Antoine Merriweather...Just wanted to point out such a happy coincidence. I'm talking about their names, but I guess there are other subtle similarities.  Haha. 2 snaps in a circle.^Right after he pushed her in a pit of dirt. I'm sorry I couldn't stop laughing my ass off for over half an hour. Her expression+his expression= priceless.umm...hahahaWhatever happens in Bankok, stays in Bankok, but we were at a motel in SD, so... Dude this is so wrong. haha. In all honesty, they're only gay for vagina, well the asian not so much.Waiting for Carne Asada fries at Lolitas. Lolitas is the shit. Didn't take photos of the food. I was too fucking burnt.